Star Helena

I came across this design on Youtube after a busy day of school, and I could not resist sitting down at my desk and learning how to fold this beautiful star. Folding from an octagon was very interesting because everything was symmetrical, and with each step stars formed and morphed into new stars with slightly different geometries. It was therapeutic to journey through this gradual morphing process. Yet this star has another exciting capability: it is an action model. If you pull two opposite sides of the star, it opens up like a box. It was magical how it was so easy to open the paper, and I could even put a miniature card inside. The star seemed almost alive when I let go of the points and it snapped closed, becoming a perfect star again. These stars would make great gifts for friends or family if you put notes inside, and I cannot wait to give one away.

Folded by Sophie Usherwood

Designed by Carmen Sprung

Leave a comment